University update!

So I know I said I would write about the course I’m studying at University, and I know I haven’t (I am so sloppy please forgive me thank you please). But anyway, so far we’ve read:

  • ‘The Bloody Chamber’ by Angela Carter
  • ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ by Margaret Atwood
  • ‘Lives of Girls and Women’ by Alice Munro
  • ‘Oranges are not the only fruit’ by Jeanette Winterson

Now I have to say all of these novels have been very VERY interesting, some rather worrying also. For example ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ was perhaps my favourite, even though it was rather worrying. Basically it’s a dystopian society in what used to be America, now called Gilead, where the women are reduced to procreating and have no power whatsoever. The extreme patriarchal society.  Here is a more detailed summary if you happen to be interested (I recommend it, it is an interesting read and will get you all fired up most likely.) 

The Handmaid’s Tale plot summary

So having written about ‘The Bloody Chamber’ I now want to share my thoughts on ‘The Handmaid’s Tale.’ Now as I sad it’s a dystopian novel where the women essentially have nothing. No power, no voice, no identity. This may come as initial shock but once you read the novel and start to relate it to certain things we hear every day on the news you realise that this is not that shocking. In fact, Atwood herself said that everything in the novel had already been happening in the world. Upon hearing this I was literally sitting there thinking ‘oh my god this could apply today.’ Who knows what could happen, we still live in a patriarchal society, and the events of the book are easily imaginable. A government overthrown, an all seeing government introduced. It’s unfortunately not an unfamiliar situation. Of course there are many other themes and layers to the novel but this is the main thing that struck me about it. That the novel, or at least elements of the novel could become a reality.

In summary it just makes me want to fight harder to make sure that it doesn’t. Even if it’s just by making more blog posts, getting my views across. Anything to even get a slither of the word out there.

Leave a Reply

